Outdoor Gateway
NovaCity

The external NovaCom network gateway with expansion functions
Presentation

The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway is the communication gateway for the NovaCom network to be installed outdoors. NovaCom is a low-data-rate, low-power wireless network specializing in the connectivity of Smart City equipment. The NovaCity Gateway is in direct communication (via 3G / 2G) with the NovaServer, the NovaCom network’s orchestrator. You can install it against a public lighting pole or on the facade.

The gateway also offers switches connected to its inputs to trigger lighting scenes. Doppler radar can also be connected to the bridge to count vehicle passes and change street lighting accordingly.

In short

IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom
Low-data-rate and low consumption
3G/2G
Extensions (switches, counting radars)
Remote reprogramming
Made in Switzerland

Features

NovaCom Mesh Wireless Router

The primary function of the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway is to act as an access point for the NovaCom network. It is a low-speed, low-power wireless network specifically designed for connecting Smart City devices. The gateway can manage up to 256 devices. Note that thanks to the mesh network, the devices do not all need to be within the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway range. Indeed, the network objects inter-communicate and relay messages to extend network coverage. The connection to the centralized software is achieved through a cellular network (3G / 2G).

NovaCom network access point
3G / 2G connectivity
Connection of 256 devices

Remote reprogramming

The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway can be updated remotely from the NovaServer software to manage the NovaCom network. The gateway also acts as an intermediary for reprogramming objects connected to the network. Remote updating is an essential feature to ensure the system’s sustainability in terms of features and security.

Remote update of the gateway
Remote update of objects in the network

Extensions

The gateway can also manage up to 4 switches that you can trigger with the remote management platform. This feature makes it possible, for example, to create lighting scenes for public places or sports grounds.

The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway can accommodate up to 4 Doppler radars, counting vehicle passages on one or more road sections. This extension capability is used in the context of volumetric public lighting, i.e., when the intensity of the luminaires must vary according to the evolution of road traffic.

Up to 4 switches
Up to 4 road counting radars

Are you interested in this equipment?

Contact us for any detailed presentation or product demonstration request

NovaCity Outdoor Gateway, the outdoor gateway for the NovaCom Smart-City wireless network

The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway is the communication gateway for the NovaCom network you can deploy in outdoor installations. NovaCom is a low-data-rate, low-consumption wireless Smart City network; it is exceptionally robust because of the frequency used (sub gigahertz 868 MHz) and its meshed operation. Each meshed object contributes to the growth of the network by relaying messages to the gateways. The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway also offers extensions such as switches to trigger actions in the remote management platform or vehicle count Doppler radars.

Product features

Dimensions (mm) : 98(H)*157(L)*86(P)
Weight : 5.25kg

The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway can be mounted on a public lighting pole or on a facade. You can install the box on poles of at least 100mm in diameter at installation height. The brackets accept fixing by rack tie or metal strips (fixing not supplied). The box is equipped with five pre-assembled cable glands to connect external equipment and the power supply input.

Environmental parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Operating temperature -25 +60 °C
Operating humidity 20 90 %RH
Maximum operating altitude 2000 meters
Degree of protection IP65
Impact protection IK10

The main box is connected to the 230VAC electrical network. The power supply has short circuit protection, overload protection, and over-voltage protection. The power consumed depends on the equipment installed in the extension.

Electrical parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Input voltage (AC) 85 230 264 VAC
Frequency 48 50 63 Hz
Input current 20 30 50 mA
Power (equipment without extensions) 2 3 5 W
Overvoltage category III
Cellular : 3G/2G
Radio frequencies : IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom

The gateway is an access point to the NovaCom mesh topology, low-data-rate, low-power wireless network. A mesh topology implies that the communication network initially generated by the NovaLight Outdoor Gateway can be extended by all the objects connected to it (signals relayed by the objects). Objects can also exchange messages directly with each other. NovaLight uses, in particular, this mechanism for the creation of light paths with dynamic lighting.

Radio frequency parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Frequency 869.525 MHz
Bit rate 38.4 kbps
Power 100 mW
Sensitivity -104 dBm
Range 150 600 meters
Mark CE (RED)
EMC EN 301 489-1/2 (in progress)
SRD EN 300 220-1/2
Safety EN 62368-1 (in progress)
Cellular EN 301 511, EN 301 908-1/2 (in progress)
References
Product name Reference
NovaCity Outdoor Gateway 3G/2G NC-OG-023NCE
Counting radar NT-MR2-010
Technical documents
NovaCity Outdoor Gateway Datasheet
28.06.2022
NovaCity Gateway Datasheet
28.06.2022
Frequently asked questions
How to install the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway?

The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway is very easy to install, and it can be mounted either on a public lighting pole or on the facade. You can use either ratchet ligatures or Petitjean type stainless steel fasteners for installation on a mast. You then have to drill the mast to pass the cable through, deburring to connect the device in the mast access hatch finally. For a front installation, you will need to remove the pre-assembled pole brackets; install the wall extensions supplied with the box and the screws previously used for fixing the mast; drill the wall after presenting and pointing the fixing holes. Finally, set the box on the wall.

How to commission the product?

Once installed, you must configure the integrated NovaCity Gateway to reach the remote management platform. You must specify the server URL and configure the cellular interface to do so. Usually, the gateway is delivered pre-configured. If necessary, you can configure it using a USB-serial cable and the Novaccess Device Center software available from our technical support.

You also have to register the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway with the online software to be allowed to connect. You can achieve this registration by using the NovaLight mobile application or software. However, the mobile application makes it easier to retrieve the product serial number by simply scanning the barcode visible on the product label.

I have SIM cards; can I use them in the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway?

Yes. The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway requires a SIM card in 2FF format. The SIM card is located inside the case. Installing a SIM card requires configuring the gateway using a USB-serial cable and the Novaccess Device Center software available from our technical support. The required settings are the APN, PIN code, and the username and password for the APN if needed.

How to connect a switch to the product?

Connecting an external switch is very easy. All you need to do is plug a two-pole cable via one of the cable glands pre-mounted on the equipment. One of the poles supplies the NovaCity Gateway voltage and must be targeted at the input of the switch. The second pole is the return to the NovaCity Gateway when the switch is on. The maximum recommended offset is 5 to 10 meters. The NovaCity Gateway will then react to the state change and transmit the signal to the remote management server.

How to connect a counting radar to the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway?

You can connect vehicle counting radars to the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway. We supply each radar with a 5-meter pre-assembled cable. You can connect each radar to the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway after passing the cable through one of the cable glands pre-mounted on the equipment.  The radar datasheet describes the connection.

How many accessories can I connect to the NovaCity Outdoor Gateway?

The NovaCity Outdoor Gateway has 4 locations for attaching accessories, for example, switches or counting radars.

Need help?

Are you having difficulty installing or using this product? Our support team is available to help you.

Outdoor Gateway
NovaCity

La passerelle réseau NovaCom extérieure avec fonctions d'extension
Présentation

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway est la passerelle de communication du réseau NovaCom à installer en extérieur. NovaCom est un réseau sans-fil bas débit et basse consommation spécialisé dans la connectivité d’équipements Smart City. La NovaCity Gateway est en communication directe (via 3G/2G) avec le  NovaServer qui est l’orchestrateur du réseau NovaCom. Elle peut être installée soit contre un mât d’éclairage public ou en façade.

La passerelle propose en extension des interrupteurs branchés sur ses entrées permettant par exemple de déclencher des scènes d’éclairage. Un radar Doppler peut également être connecté à la passerelle pour compter les passages de véhicules et modifier l’éclairage public en conséquence.

En bref

IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom
Bas débit et basse consommation
3G/2G
Extensions (interrupteurs, radars de comptage)
Reprogrammation à distance
Fabriqué en Suisse

Fonctionnalités

Routeur sans-fil NovaCom Mesh

La fonction première de la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway est d’agir comme point d’accès pour le réseau NovaCom. Il s’agit d’un réseau sans-fil bas débit et basse consommation spécifiquement conçu pour la connexion d’appareils Smart City. La passerelle est capable de gérer jusqu’à 256 appareils. A noter que grâce au maillage du réseau, les appareils n’ont pas besoin d’être tous à portée de la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway. En effet, les objets du réseau communiquent entre eux et relaient les messages de façon à étendre la couverture réseau. La connexion au logiciel centralisé est réalisée par réseau cellulaire (3G/2G).

Point d'accès réseau NovaCom
Connectivité 3G/2G
Connexion de 256 appareils

Reprogrammation à distance

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway peut être mise à jour à distance depuis le logiciel NovaServer de gestion du réseau NovaCom. La passerelle joue également le rôle d’intermédiaire pour la reprogrammation des objets connectés au réseau. La mise à jour à distance est une fonctionnalité essentielle pour assurer la pérennité du système en termes de fonctionnalités mais également de sécurité.

Mise à jour à distance de la passerelle
Mise à jour à distance des objets dans le réseau

Extensions

La passerelle peut également gérer jusqu’à 4 interrupteurs permettant de déclencher des actions dans la plateforme de télégestion. Cette fonctionnalité permet par exemple de créer des scène d’éclairage pour des places publics ou terrains sportifs.

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway peut accueillir jusqu’à 4 radars Doppler permettant le comptage des passages des véhicules sur un ou plusieurs tronçons routiers. Cette fonctionnalité est utilisée dans le cadre de l’éclairage public volumétrique où l’intensité des luminaires varie selon l’évolution du trafic routier.

Jusqu'à 4 interrupteurs
Jusqu'à 4 radars de comptage routier

Cet équipement vous intéresse ?

Contactez-nous pour toute demande de présentation détaillée ou démonstration du produit

NovaCity Outdoor Gateway, la passerelle extérieure pour le réseau sans-fil NovaCom Smart-City

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway est la passerelle de communication du réseau NovaCom à installer à l’extérieur. NovaCom est un réseau Smart City sans-fil bas débit et basse consommation. Il est particulièrement robuste du fait de la fréquence utilisée (sub gigahertz 868 MHz) et par son fonctionnement maillé où chaque objet participe à l’accroissement du réseau en relayant les messages jusqu’aux passerelles. La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway offre également des extensions comme des interrupteurs permettant de déclencher des actions dans la plateforme de télégestion ou des radars Doppler de comptage des véhicules.

Caractéristiques du produit

Dimensions (mm) : 98(H)*157(L)*86(P)
Poids : 5.25kg

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway peut être montée soit sur un mât d’éclairage public, soit en façade. Le coffret s’installe sur des mâts d’au moins 100mm de diamètre à hauteur d’installation. Les supports acceptent une fixation par ligature à crémaillère ou feuillards métalliques (fixation non fournie). Le coffret est muni de 5 presse-étoupes pré-montés pour le raccord d’équipements externes et l’entrée d’alimentation électrique.

Paramètres environnementaux Min Type Max Unité
Température de fonctionnement -25 +60 °C
Humidité de fonctionnement 20 90 %RH
Altitude maximale de fonctionnement 2000 mètres
Degré de protection IP65
Protection aux chocs IK10

Le coffret principal se raccorde au réseau électrique 230VAC. L’alimentation dispose de protections contre les courts-circuits, la surcharge et les surtensions. La puissance consommée est dépendante du matériel installé en extension.

Paramètres électriques Min Type Max Unité
Tension d'entrée (AC) 85 230 264 VAC
Fréquence 48 50 63 Hz
Courant d'entrée 20 30 50 mA
Puissance (équipement sans matériel d'extension) 2 3 5 W
Catégorie de surtension III
Cellulaire : 3G/2G
Radiofréquences : IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom

La passerelle est un point d’accès au réseau sans-fil NovaCom à topologie maillée, bas débit et basse consommation. Une topologie maillée signifie que le réseau de communication initialement généré par la NovaLight Outdoor Gateway peut être étendu par tous les objets qui y sont connectés (signaux relayés par les objets). Les objets peuvent également échanger des messages directement entre eux. Ce mécanisme est notamment utilisé pour la création des chemins de lumière avec l’éclairage dynamique.

Paramètres radiofréquences Min Type Max Unité
Fréquence 869.525 MHz
Débit 38.4 kbps
Puissance 100 mW
Sensibilité -104 dBm
Portée 150 600 mètres
Marque CE (RED)
EMC EN 301 489-1/2 (en cours)
SRD EN 300 220-1/2
Sécurité EN 62368-1 (en cours)
Cellulaire EN 301 511, EN 301 908-1/2 (en cours)
Références
Nom de produit Référence
NovaCity Outdoor Gateway 3G/2G NC-OG-023NCE
Radar de comptage NT-MR2-010
Documents techniques
Fiche technique de la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway
21.05.2022
Fiche technique de la NovaCity Gateway
21.05.2022
Fiche technique du NovaTraffic Monitoring Radar
21.05.2022
Questions fréquentes
Comment installer la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway ?

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway s’installe très facilement. Elle peut être montée soit sur un mât d’éclairage public, soit en façade.

Pour une installation sur mât, vous pouvez utiliser soit des ligatures à crémaillères, soit des attaches type PetitJean en acier inoxydable. Il faut ensuite percer le mât pour y passer le câble, ébavurer pour finalement raccorder l’appareil dans la trappe d’accès du mât.

Pour une installation en façade, vous devrez retirer les fixations pour mât pré-montées ; installer les extensions murales fournies avec le coffret et la visserie préalablement utilisée pour la fixation du mât ; percer la paroi après présentation et pointage des trous de fixation ; et finalement fixer le coffret au mur.

Comment mettre en service le produit ?

Une fois installée, la NovaCity Gateway intégrée doit être configurée pour atteindre la plateforme de télégestion. Il s’agit notamment de spécifier l’URL du serveur et de configurer l’interface cellulaire. Généralement, la passerelle est livrée pré-configurée. Le cas échéant, elle peut être configurée à l’aide d’un câble USB-série et du logiciel Novaccess Device Center disponible auprès de notre support technique.

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway doit également être enregistrée sur le logiciel en ligne pour être autorisée à se connecter. Cette opération s’effectue à l’aide de l’application mobile NovaLight, ou via le logiciel. L’application mobile permet néanmoins de récupérer plus facilement le numéro de série du produit par un simple scan du code-barre visible sur l’étiquette du produit.

Je dispose de cartes SIM, puis-je les utiliser dans la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway ?

Oui. La NovaCity Gateway intégrée requiert une carte SIM au format 2FF. La carte SIM est située à l’intérieur du boîtier. L’installation d’une carte SIM requiert la configuration de la passerelle à l’aide d’un câble USB-série et du logiciel Novaccess Device Center disponible auprès de notre support technique. Les paramètres requis sont l’APN, le code PIN  ainsi que le nom d’utilisateur et le mot de passe pour l’APN si nécessaire.

Comment raccorder un interrupteur sur le produit ?

Le raccord d’un interrupteur externe est très simple. Il suffit de raccorder un câble à deux pôles via un des presses-étoupes pré-montés sur l’équipement. L’un des pôles est une tension fournie par la NovaCity Gateway et doit être ciblé en entrée de l’interrupteur. Le second pôle est le retour vers la NovaCity Gateway lorsque l’interrupteur est actionné. Le déport maximum recommandé est de 5 à 10 mètres. La NovaCity Gateway réagira alors au changement d’état et transmettra le signal au serveur de télégestion.

Comment raccorder un radar de comptage sur la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway ?

Des radars de comptage de véhicules peuvent être raccordés sur La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway. Chaque radar est fourni avec un câble pré-monté de 5 mètres. Il se raccorde dans la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway après avoir été préalablement passé par l’un des presses-étoupes pré-montés sur l’équipement. Le raccord est décrit dans la fiche technique du radar.

Combien d'accessoires puis-je connecter sur la NovaCity Outdoor Gateway ?

La NovaCity Outdoor Gateway dispose de 4 emplacements pour raccorder des accessoires, par exemple : des interrupteurs ou des radars de comptage.

Besoin d’aide ?

Vous rencontrez des difficultés à installer ou à utiliser ce produit ? Notre équipe de support est à disposition pour vous venir en aide.