Gateway
NovaCity

The NovaCom network gateway and electrical cabinet controller
Presentation

The NovaCity Gateway is the communication gateway for the NovaCom network. NovaCom is a low-speed, low-power wireless network specializing in the connectivity of Smart City equipment. The NovaCity Gateway is in direct communication (via 3G / 2G or Ethernet) with the NovaServer, the NovaCom network’s orchestrator.

The gateway also has input/output contacts that you can use to monitor or control third-party devices. In addition to its role as a network gateway, it also becomes an electrical cabinet controller.

In short

IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom
Low-data-rate and low consumption
3G/2G/LAN
4 input contacts / 4 output contacts
Remote reprogramming
Made in Switzerland

Features

NovaCom Mesh Wireless Router

The primary function of the NovaCity Gateway is to act as an access point for the NovaCom network. It is a low-data-rate, low-power wireless network specifically designed for connecting Smart City devices. The gateway can manage up to 256 devices. Note that thanks to the mesh network, the devices do not all need to be within range of the NovaCity Gateway. Indeed, the network objects communicate and relay messages to extend network coverage. The connection to the centralized software is made either by a cellular network (3G / 2G) or wired (Ethernet).

NovaCom network access point
3G/2G/Ethernet connectivity
Connection of 256 devices

Output contacts

The NovaCity Gateway is equipped with four output contacts, allowing third-party equipment control. These contacts can be used, for example, to control the engagement of a power contactor of an electrical segment or to send an electrical signal to a device. You can activate these contacts by the remote management software or the mobile application.

4 output contacts
Control from the online software

Input contacts

Thanks to the NovaCity Gateway, you also can monitor input contacts from third-party equipment. For example, you can close a dry contact when a device is faulty, when a threshold has been exceeded or when a device is powered. A notification is sent to the remote management platform as soon as a change occurs on the digital input. For example, these inputs are used by the NovaLight solution when switches are connected to trigger public lighting scenes. With the volumetric dimming of the lighting, road traffic is also counted using a Doppler radar connected to an entrance to the bridge.

4 input contacts
Monitoring from online software

Remote reprogramming

The NovaCity Gateway can be updated remotely from the NovaServer software for managing the NovaCom network. The gateway also acts as an intermediary for reprogramming objects connected to the network. Remote updating is an essential feature to ensure the system’s sustainability in terms of functionality and security.

Remote update of the gateway
Remote update of objects in the network

Are you interested in this equipment?

Contact us for any detailed presentation or product demonstration request

NovaCity Gateway, the gateway for the NovaCom Smart-City wireless network

The NovaCity Gateway is the communication gateway for the NovaCom network. It is a low-speed, low-power wireless Smart City network. It is exceptionally robust due to the frequency used (sub gigahertz 868 MHz) and its meshed operation. Each object contributes to the growth of the network by relaying messages to the gateways. The NovaCity Gateway also offers remote monitoring and control functions thanks to its generic inputs/outputs.

Dimensions (mm) : 98(H)*157(L)*86(P)
Weight : 250g

The NovaCity Gateway is fixed on a 35mm DIN rail (DIN 43880) with a length of 9 units, or approximately 160mm. You also need a 230VAC / 24VDC power supply which is not included as standard but available as an option if necessary. The upper part of the box has four sockets: a 10 / 100Mbps Ethernet LAN socket, an SMA antenna port for the 3G / 2G network, a female DB9 socket for an RS-232 serial configuration cable, and an antenna port SMA for the wireless mesh network.

Environmental parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Operating temperature -30 +75 °C
Operating humidity 10 90 %RH
Degree of protection IP30
Impact protection IK09

The basic wiring of the NovaCity Gateway consists of installing the antennas (cellular and mesh) and the 24VDC power supply on terminals number 4 (24VDC) and 5 (GND). Please note that the cellular antenna must be mounted even if the Ethernet LAN interface is used. Note that the 230VAC-24VDC power supply is not included as standard with the product but is available as an option if necessary.

Electrical parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Input voltage 10 24 38 VDC
Power consumption 1 1.5 2.5 W
Cellular network : 3G/2G
Ethernet : IEEE 802.3 10/100Mbps
Radio frequency : IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom

The gateway is an access point to the NovaCom mesh topology, low-data-rate, low power wireless network. Mesh topology implies that the communication network initially generated by the NovaLight Gateway can be extended by all the objects connected to it (signals relayed by the objects). Objects can also exchange messages directly with each other. NovaLight uses, in particular this direct exchange mechanism, to create light paths with dynamic lighting.

Radio frequency parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Frequency 869.525 MHz
Bit rate 38.4 kbps
Power 100 mW
Sensitivity -104 dBm
Range 150 600 meters
Mark CE (RED)
EMC EN 301 489-3
SRD EN 300 220-1/-2
Safety EN 60950-1
Cellular EN 301 511, EN 301 908-1/-2
References
Product name Reference
NovaCity Gateway 3G/2G/LAN NC-G-023NCE
Technical documents
NovaCity Gateway Datasheet
28.06.2022
Frequently asked questions
How to install the NovaCity Gateway?

The NovaCity Gateway is mounted on a 35mm DIN rail. It requires a 24VDC power supply which Novaccess can povide as an option. The power supply must be connected using two wires on the terminals of the Gateway. Before switching on, the antennas must be mounted on the box. The cellular antenna is generally smaller than the NovaCom wireless mesh network antenna. Depending on the location of the installation of the NovaCity Gateway, it is possible to deport an antenna if necessary. If in doubt, do not hesitate to contact our technical support.

How to commission a NovaCity Gateway?

Once installed, you must configure the NovaCity Gateway to reach the remote management platform. These include specifying the server URL, configuring the Ethernet (by default, automatic DHCP addressing), or cellular interface. Usually, the gateway is delivered pre-configured. If necessary, it can be configured using a USB-serial cable and the Novaccess Device Center software available from our technical support.

You must also register the NovaCity Gateway with the online software to be allowed to be connected. You can achieve this registration using the NovaLight mobile application or the software. However, the mobile application makes it easier to retrieve the product serial number by simply scanning the barcode visible on the product label.

I have SIM cards; can I use them in the NovaCity Gateway?

Yes. The NovaCity Gateway requires a SIM card in 2FF format. The SIM card is located inside the case. Installing a SIM card requires configuring the gateway using a USB-serial cable and the Novaccess Device Center software available from our technical support. The required settings are the APN, PIN code, and the username and password for the APN if needed.

Need help?

Are you having difficulty installing or using this product? Our support team is available to help you.

Gateway
NovaCity

La passerelle réseau NovaCom et contrôleur d'armoires électriques
Présentation

La NovaCity Gateway est la passerelle de communication du réseau NovaCom. NovaCom est un réseau sans-fil bas débit et basse consommation spécialisé dans la connectivité d’équipements Smart City. La NovaCity Gateway est en communication directe (via 3G/2G ou Ethernet) avec le  NovaServer qui est l’orchestrateur du réseau NovaCom.

La passerelle est également munie de contacts d’entrées/sorties pouvant être utilisés pour surveiller ou contrôler des appareils tiers. En plus de son rôle de passerelle réseau, elle devient ainsi aussi un contrôleur d’armoire électrique.

En bref

IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom
Bas débit et basse consommation
3G/2G/LAN
4 contacts d'entrée / 4 contacts de sortie
Reprogrammation à distance
Fabriqué en Suisse

Fonctionnalités

Routeur sans-fil NovaCom Mesh

La fonction première de la NovaCity Gateway est d’agir comme point d’accès pour le réseau NovaCom. Il s’agit d’un réseau sans-fil bas débit et basse consommation spécifiquement conçu pour la connexion d’appareils Smart City. La passerelle est capable de gérer jusqu’à 256 appareils. A noter que grâce au maillage du réseau, les appareils n’ont pas besoin d’être tous à portée de la NovaCity Gateway. En effet, les objets du réseau communiquent entre eux et relaient les messages de façon à étendre la couverture réseau. La connexion au logiciel centralisé est réalisée soit par réseau cellulaire (3G/2G) soit filaire (Ethernet).

Point d'accès réseau NovaCom
Connectivité 3G/2G/Ethernet
Connexion de 256 appareils

Contacts de sortie

La NovaCity Gateway est munie de 4 contacts de sortie permettant le contrôle d’équipements tiers. Ces contacts peuvent être utilisés par exemple pour commander l’enclenchement d’un contacteur de puissance d’un segment électrique ou pour envoyer un signal électrique à un appareil. Ces contacts sont commandés depuis le logiciel de télégestion ou l’application mobile.

4 contacts de sortie
Pilotage depuis le logiciel en ligne

Contacts d'entrée

La NovaCity Gateway permet également la surveillance de contacts d’entrée provenant d’équipements tiers. Par exemple, un appareil fermant un contact sec lorsqu’il est en défaut, lorsqu’un seuil a été dépassé ou lorsqu’il est alimenté. Dès lors qu’un changement survient sur l’entrée digitale, une notification est envoyée à la plateforme de télégestion. Ces entrées sont par exemple utilisées par la solution NovaLight où des interrupteurs sont raccordés afin de déclencher des scènes d’éclairage public. Avec l’abaissement volumétrique de l’éclairage, on compte également le trafic routier à l’aide d’un radar Doppler raccordé à une entrée de la passerelle.

4 contacts d'entrée
Surveillance depuis le logiciel en ligne

Reprogrammation à distance

La NovaCity Gateway peut être mise à jour à distance depuis le logiciel NovaServer de gestion du réseau NovaCom. La passerelle joue également le rôle d’intermédiaire pour la reprogrammation des objets connectés au réseau. La mise à jour à distance est une fonctionnalité essentielle pour assurer la pérennité du système en termes de fonctionnalités mais également de sécurité.

Mise à jour à distance de la passerelle
Mise à jour à distance des objets dans le réseau

Cet équipement vous intéresse ?

Contactez-nous pour toute demande de présentation détaillée ou démonstration du produit

NovaCity Gateway, la passerelle pour le réseau sans-fil NovaCom Smart-City

La NovaCity Gateway est la passerelle de communication du réseau NovaCom. Il s’agit d’un réseau Smart City sans-fil bas débit et basse consommation. Il est particulièrement robuste de par la fréquence utilisée (sub gigahertz 868 MHz) et par son fonctionnement maillé où chaque objet participe à l’accroissement du réseau en relayant les messages jusqu’aux passerelles. La NovaCity Gateway offre également des fonctionnalités de surveillance et contrôle à distance grâce à ses entrées/sorties génériques.

Dimensions (mm) : 98(H)*157(L)*86(P)
Poids : 250g

La NovaCity Gateway se fixe sur un rail DIN 35mm (DIN 43880) avec une longueur de 9 unités, soit environ 160mm. Il faut également compter une alimentation 230VAC/24VDC qui n’est pas comprise de base mais disponible en option si besoin. La partie supérieure du boîtier dispose de 4 prises : une prise LAN Ethernet 10/100Mbps, un port d’antenne SMA pour le réseau 3G/2G, une prise DB9 femelle pour un câble de configuration série RS-232 et un port d’antenne SMA pour le réseau sans-fil maillé.

Paramètres environnementaux Min Type Max Unité
Température de fonctionnement -30 +75 °C
Humidité en fonctionnement 10 90 %RH
Degré de protection IP30
Protection aux chocs IK09

Le câblage de base de la NovaCity Gateway consiste à installer les antennes (cellulaire et mesh) et l’alimentation électrique 24VDC sur les bornes numéros 4 (24VDC) et 5 (GND). Attention, l’antenne cellulaire doit être montée même si c’est l’interface LAN Ethernet qui est exploitée. A noter que l’alimentation 230VAC-24VDC n’est pas incluse de base avec le produit mais est disponible en option si nécessaire.

Paramètres électriques Min Type Max Unité
Tension d'entrée 10 24 38 VDC
Puissance consommée 1 1.5 2.5 W
Réseau cellulaire : 3G/2G
Ethernet : IEEE 802.3 10/100Mbps
Radiofréquence : IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom

La passerelle est un point d’accès au réseau sans-fil NovaCom à topologie maillée, bas débit et basse consommation. Une topologie maillée signifie que le réseau de communication initialement généré par la NovaLight Gateway peut être étendu par tous les objets qui y sont connectés (signaux relayés par les objets). Les objets peuvent également échanger des messages directement entre eux. Ce mécanisme est notamment utilisé pour la création des chemins de lumière avec l’éclairage dynamique.

Paramètres radiofréquences Min Type Max Unité
Fréquence 869.525 MHz
Débit 38.4 kbps
Puissance 100 mW
Sensibilité -104 dBm
Portée 150 600 mètres
Marque CE (RED)
EMC EN 301 489-3
SRD EN 300 220-1/-2
Sécurité EN 60950-1
Cellulaire EN 301 511, EN 301 908-1/-2
Références
Nom de produit Référence
NovaCity Gateway 3G/2G/LAN NC-G-023NCE
Documents techniques
Fiche technique NovaCity Gateway
21.05.2022
Questions fréquentes
Comment installer la NovaCity Gateway ?

La NovaCity Gateway se monte sur un rail DIN 35mm. Elle requiert une alimentation 24VDC qui peut être fournie par Novaccess en option. L’alimentation doit être raccordée à l’aide de deux fils sur les bornes de la Gateway. Avant la mise sous-tension, les antennes doivent impérativement être montées sur le boitier. L’antenne cellulaire est généralement plus petite que l’antenne du réseau sans-fil maillé NovaCom. En fonction de l’emplacement de l’installation de la NovaCity Gateway, il est possible de déporter si nécessaire une antenne. En cas de doute, n’hésitez-pas à prendre contact avec notre support technique.

Comment mettre en service une NovaCity Gateway ?

Une fois installée, la NovaCity Gateway doit être configurée pour atteindre la plateforme de télégestion. Il s’agit notamment de spécifier l’URL du serveur, de configurer l’interface Ethernet (par défaut un adressage automatique DHCP) ou cellulaire. Généralement, la passerelle est livrée pré-configurée. Le cas échéant, elle peut être configurée à l’aide d’un câble USB-série et du logiciel Novaccess Device Center disponible auprès de notre support technique.

La NovaCity Gateway doit également être enregistrée sur le logiciel en ligne pour être autorisée à se connecter. Cette opération s’effectue à l’aide de l’application mobile NovaLight, ou via le logiciel. L’application mobile permet néanmoins de récupérer plus facilement le numéro de série du produit par un simple scan du code-barre visible sur l’étiquette du produit.

Je dispose de cartes SIM, puis-je les utiliser dans la NovaCity Gateway ?

Oui. La NovaCity Gateway requiert une carte SIM au format 2FF. La carte SIM est située à l’intérieur du boîtier. L’installation d’une carte SIM requiert la configuration de la passerelle à l’aide d’un câble USB-série et du logiciel Novaccess Device Center disponible auprès de notre support technique. Les paramètres requis sont l’APN, le code PIN  ainsi que le nom d’utilisateur et le mot de passe pour l’APN si nécessaire.

Besoin d’aide ?

Vous rencontrez des difficultés à installer ou à utiliser ce produit ? Notre équipe de support est à disposition pour vous venir en aide.