Gateway
NovaCity

The NovaCom network gateway and electrical cabinet controller
Presentation

The NovaCity Gateway is the communication gateway for the NovaCom network. NovaCom is a low-speed, low-power wireless network specializing in the connectivity of Smart City equipment. The NovaCity Gateway is in direct communication (via 3G / 2G or Ethernet) with the NovaServer, the NovaCom network’s orchestrator.

The gateway also has input/output contacts that you can use to monitor or control third-party devices. In addition to its role as a network gateway, it also becomes an electrical cabinet controller.

In short

IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom
Low-data-rate and low consumption
3G/2G/LAN
4 input contacts / 4 output contacts
Remote reprogramming
Made in Switzerland

Features

NovaCom Mesh Wireless Router

The primary function of the NovaCity Gateway is to act as an access point for the NovaCom network. It is a low-data-rate, low-power wireless network specifically designed for connecting Smart City devices. The gateway can manage up to 256 devices. Note that thanks to the mesh network, the devices do not all need to be within range of the NovaCity Gateway. Indeed, the network objects communicate and relay messages to extend network coverage. The connection to the centralized software is made either by a cellular network (3G / 2G) or wired (Ethernet).

NovaCom network access point
3G/2G/Ethernet connectivity
Connection of 256 devices

Output contacts

The NovaCity Gateway is equipped with four output contacts, allowing third-party equipment control. These contacts can be used, for example, to control the engagement of a power contactor of an electrical segment or to send an electrical signal to a device. You can activate these contacts by the remote management software or the mobile application.

4 output contacts
Control from the online software

Input contacts

Thanks to the NovaCity Gateway, you also can monitor input contacts from third-party equipment. For example, you can close a dry contact when a device is faulty, when a threshold has been exceeded or when a device is powered. A notification is sent to the remote management platform as soon as a change occurs on the digital input. For example, these inputs are used by the NovaLight solution when switches are connected to trigger public lighting scenes. With the volumetric dimming of the lighting, road traffic is also counted using a Doppler radar connected to an entrance to the bridge.

4 input contacts
Monitoring from online software

Remote reprogramming

The NovaCity Gateway can be updated remotely from the NovaServer software for managing the NovaCom network. The gateway also acts as an intermediary for reprogramming objects connected to the network. Remote updating is an essential feature to ensure the system’s sustainability in terms of functionality and security.

Remote update of the gateway
Remote update of objects in the network

Are you interested in this equipment?

Contact us for any detailed presentation or product demonstration request

NovaCity Gateway, the gateway for the NovaCom Smart-City wireless network

The NovaCity Gateway is the communication gateway for the NovaCom network. It is a low-speed, low-power wireless Smart City network. It is exceptionally robust due to the frequency used (sub gigahertz 868 MHz) and its meshed operation. Each object contributes to the growth of the network by relaying messages to the gateways. The NovaCity Gateway also offers remote monitoring and control functions thanks to its generic inputs/outputs.

Dimensions (mm) : 98(H)*157(L)*86(P)
Weight : 250g

The NovaCity Gateway is fixed on a 35mm DIN rail (DIN 43880) with a length of 9 units, or approximately 160mm. You also need a 230VAC / 24VDC power supply which is not included as standard but available as an option if necessary. The upper part of the box has four sockets: a 10 / 100Mbps Ethernet LAN socket, an SMA antenna port for the 3G / 2G network, a female DB9 socket for an RS-232 serial configuration cable, and an antenna port SMA for the wireless mesh network.

Environmental parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Operating temperature -30 +75 °C
Operating humidity 10 90 %RH
Degree of protection IP30
Impact protection IK09

The basic wiring of the NovaCity Gateway consists of installing the antennas (cellular and mesh) and the 24VDC power supply on terminals number 4 (24VDC) and 5 (GND). Please note that the cellular antenna must be mounted even if the Ethernet LAN interface is used. Note that the 230VAC-24VDC power supply is not included as standard with the product but is available as an option if necessary.

Electrical parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Input voltage 10 24 38 VDC
Power consumption 1 1.5 2.5 W
Cellular network : 3G/2G
Ethernet : IEEE 802.3 10/100Mbps
Radio frequency : IEEE 802.15.4 868MHz NovaCom

The gateway is an access point to the NovaCom mesh topology, low-data-rate, low power wireless network. Mesh topology implies that the communication network initially generated by the NovaLight Gateway can be extended by all the objects connected to it (signals relayed by the objects). Objects can also exchange messages directly with each other. NovaLight uses, in particular this direct exchange mechanism, to create light paths with dynamic lighting.

Radio frequency parameters Min Typical Max Unit
Frequency 869.525 MHz
Bit rate 38.4 kbps
Power 100 mW
Sensitivity -104 dBm
Range 150 600 meters
Mark CE (RED)
EMC EN 301 489-3
SRD EN 300 220-1/-2
Safety EN 60950-1
Cellular EN 301 511, EN 301 908-1/-2
References
Product name Reference
NovaCity Gateway 3G/2G/LAN NC-G-023NCE
Technical documents
NovaCity Gateway Datasheet
28.06.2022
Frequently asked questions
How to install the NovaCity Gateway?

The NovaCity Gateway is mounted on a 35mm DIN rail. It requires a 24VDC power supply which Novaccess can povide as an option. The power supply must be connected using two wires on the terminals of the Gateway. Before switching on, the antennas must be mounted on the box. The cellular antenna is generally smaller than the NovaCom wireless mesh network antenna. Depending on the location of the installation of the NovaCity Gateway, it is possible to deport an antenna if necessary. If in doubt, do not hesitate to contact our technical support.

How to commission a NovaCity Gateway?

Once installed, you must configure the NovaCity Gateway to reach the remote management platform. These include specifying the server URL, configuring the Ethernet (by default, automatic DHCP addressing), or cellular interface. Usually, the gateway is delivered pre-configured. If necessary, it can be configured using a USB-serial cable and the Novaccess Device Center software available from our technical support.

You must also register the NovaCity Gateway with the online software to be allowed to be connected. You can achieve this registration using the NovaLight mobile application or the software. However, the mobile application makes it easier to retrieve the product serial number by simply scanning the barcode visible on the product label.

I have SIM cards; can I use them in the NovaCity Gateway?

Yes. The NovaCity Gateway requires a SIM card in 2FF format. The SIM card is located inside the case. Installing a SIM card requires configuring the gateway using a USB-serial cable and the Novaccess Device Center software available from our technical support. The required settings are the APN, PIN code, and the username and password for the APN if needed.

Need help?

Are you having difficulty installing or using this product? Our support team is available to help you.

Gateway
NovaCity

Das NovaCom-Netzwerk-Gateway und Segmentcontroller
Übersicht

Das NovaCity Gateway ist das Kommunikations-Gateway des NovaCom-Netzwerks. Es handelt sich um ein drahtloses Netzwerk mit hoher Reichweite und geringem Stromverbrauch, welches auf die Verbindung von Smart-City-Geräten ausgelegt ist. Das Gateway steht in direkter Kommunikation (über 3G/2G oder Ethernet) mit dem NovaServer, der die Zentrale des NovaCom-Netzwerks bildet.

Das Gateway verfügt ausserdem über Ein-/Ausgangskontakte, die zur Überwachung oder Steuerung von Drittgeräten verwendet werden können. Neben seiner Rolle als Netzwerk-Gateway wird es so auch zum Segmentcontroller.

In Kürze

IEEE 802.15.4 868 MHz NovaCom
Hohe Reichweite bei geringem Stromverbrauch
3G/2G/LAN
4 Eingangskontakte / 4 Ausgangskontakte
Remote Programmierung
Hergestellt in der Schweiz

Funktionen

NovaCom Mesh Wireless Router

Die Hauptfunktion des NovaCity Gateways besteht darin, als Zugangspunkt für das NovaCom-Netzwerk zu fungieren. Dabei handelt es sich um ein drahtloses Netzwerk mit hoher Reichweite und geringem Stromverbrauch, welches speziell für die Verbindung von Smart-City-Objekten entwickelt wurde. Das Gateway ist in der Lage, bis zu 256 Objekte zu verwalten. Dank der Vernetzung des Netzwerks müssen sich die Objekte nicht alle in Reichweite des NovaCity-Gateways befinden. Vielmehr kommunizieren die Objekte im Netzwerk miteinander und leiten Nachrichten weiter, so dass die Netzwerkabdeckung erweitert wird. Die Verbindung zur zentralen Software wird entweder über das Mobilfunknetz (3G/2G) oder über Kabel (Ethernet) hergestellt.

NovaCom-Netzwerkzugangspunkt
Verbindung 3G/2G/Ethernet
Verbindung von 256 Objekten

Ausgänge

Das NovaCity Gateway verfügt über vier Ausgangskontakte, welche die Steuerung von Drittgeräten ermöglichen. Diese Kontakte können beispielsweise verwendet werden, um das Einschalten eines Leistungsschützes eines elektrischen Segments zu steuern oder um ein elektrisches Signal an ein Gerät zu senden. Die Ausgänge werden von der Management-Software oder aus der mobilen App gesteuert.

4 Ausgänge
Remote Steuerung

Eingänge

Das NovaCity Gateway ermöglicht auch eine Überwachung von Eingangskontakten, die von Geräten anderer Hersteller stammen. Zum Beispiel ein Gerät, das einen potentialfreien Kontakt schliesst, wenn es einen Fehler hat, bei Schwellenwert Überschreitung oder wenn es mit Strom versorgt wird. Sobald eine Änderung am digitalen Eingang auftritt, wird eine Benachrichtigung an die Management-Software gesendet. Eine weitere Variante ist die Verwendung von Schaltern um bestimmte Szenen der Beleuchtung auszulösen. Bei der verkehrsvolumenabhängigen Lichtsteuerung wird der Verkehr mit Hilfe eines Radar- Sensors gezählt. Der Radar wird ebenfalls auf einen dieser Eingänge geführt.

4 Eingänge
Remote Überwachung

Remote Programmierung

Das NovaCity Gateway kann von der NovaServer-Software zur Verwaltung des NovaCom-Netzwerks von Remote aktualisiert werden. Das Gateway dient auch als Vermittler für die Reprogrammierung von Objekten, die mit dem Netzwerk verbunden sind. Die Remoteaktualisierung ist eine wichtige Funktion, um das System hinsichtlich seiner Funktionalität, aber auch hinsichtlich seiner Sicherheit dauerhaft zu betreiben.

Remoteaktualisierung des Gateways
Remoteaktualisierung von Objekten im Netzwerk

Sind Sie an dieser Ausrüstung interessiert?

Kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie eine detaillierte Präsentation oder eine Produktvorführung wünschen.

NovaCity Gateway, das Gateway für das drahtlose NovaCom Smart-City-Netzwerk

Das NovaCity Gateway ist das Kommunikations-Gateway des NovaCom-Netzwerks. Es handelt sich um ein drahtloses Smart City-Netzwerk mit hoher Reichweite und geringem Stromverbrauch. Es ist aufgrund der verwendeten Frequenz (Sub-GHz 868 MHz) und des Mesh-Betriebs, bei dem jedes Objekt zur Erweiterung des Netzwerks beiträgt, besonders robust. Das NovaCity Gateway bietet dank seiner integrierten Ein- und Ausgänge auch die Möglichkeit der Remoteüberwachung und -steuerung.

Produkteigenschaften

Abmessungen (mm) : 98(H)*157(B)*86(T)
Gewicht : 250 g

Das NovaCity Gateway wird auf einer 35 mm DIN-Schiene (DIN 43880) mit einer Länge von 9 Einheiten, also etwa 160 mm, befestigt. Hinzu kommt ein 230 VAC / 24 VDC-Netzteil, welches nicht im Lieferumfang enthalten ist, aber bei Bedarf als Option erhältlich ist. Auf der Oberseite des Gehäuses befinden sich vier Anschlüsse: 1x 10/100 Mbps-Ethernet-LAN-Anschluss, 1x SMA-Antennenanschluss für das 3G/2G-Netzwerk, 1x DB9-Buchse für ein serielles RS-232-Konfigurationskabel und 1x SMA-Antennenanschluss für ein drahtloses Mesh-Netzwerk.

UMGEBUNGSPARAMETER MIN TYP MAX EINHEIT
Betriebstemperatur -30 +75 °C
Luftfeuchtigkeit im Betrieb 10 90 %RH
Gehäuseschutzart IP30
Stossschutz IK09

Die grundlegende Verkabelung des NovaCity Gateways besteht aus der Installation der Antennen (Mobile- und Mesh-Antenne) und der 24 VDC-Stromversorgung an den Klemmen Nummer 4 (24 VDC) und 5 (GND). Beachten Sie, dass die Mobile-Antenne auch dann montiert werden muss, wenn die Ethernet-LAN-Schnittstelle genutzt wird. Das 230 VAC / 24 VDC-Netzteil ist nicht im Lieferumfang des Gateways enthalten. Dieses muss bei Bedarf als Option bestellt werden.

ELEKTRISCHE EIGENSCHAFTEN MIN TYP MAX EINHEIT
Eingangsspannung 10 24 38 VDC
Durchschnittlicher Verbrauch 1 1.5 2.5 W
Mobilfunknetz : 3G/2G
Ethernet : IEEE 802.3 10/100 Mbps
Funkfrequenz : IEEE 802.15.4 868 MHz NovaCom

Das Gateway dient als Zugangspunkt zum drahtlosen NovaCom-Netzwerk mit Mesh- Topologie, mit hoher Reichweite und geringem Stromverbrauch. Eine Mesh- Topologie bedeutet, dass das ursprünglich vom NovaLight Gateway erzeugte Kommunikationsnetz von allen mit ihm verbundenen Objekten erweitert werden kann (von Objekten weitergeleitete Signale). Die Objekte können auch direkt untereinander kommunizieren. Dieser Methode wird insbesondere bei der Erstellung von dynamischer Beleuchtung verwendet.

PARAMETER MIN TYP MAX EINHEIT
Frequenz 869.525 MHz
Übertragungsrate 38.4 kbps
Leistung 100 mW
Empfindlichkeit -104 dBm
Reichweite 150 600 Meter
Kennzeichnung CE (RED)
EMV EN 301 489-3
SRD EN 300 220-1/-2
Sicherheit EN 60950-1
Mobilnetz EN 301 511, EN 301 908-1/-2
Referenzen
PRODUKTBEZEICHNUNG REFERENZ
NovaCity Gateway 3G/2G/LAN NC-G-023NCE
Technische Dokumente
Datenblatt NovaCity Gateway
922 kB
09.12.2021
FAQ
Installation vom NovaCity Gateway

Das NovaCity Gateway wird auf einer 35 mm DIN-Schiene montiert. Es benötigt eine 24 VDC-Stromversorgung, die optional von Novaccess geliefert werden kann. Die Stromversorgung muss mit zwei Drähten an die Klemmen des Gateways angeschlossen werden. Wichtig! Vor dem Einschalten müssen die Antennen zwingend angeschlossen werden. Die Mobilfunkantenne ist in der Regel kleiner als die Antenne des NovaCom Mesh-Wireless-Netzwerks. Je nachdem, wo das NovaCity Gateway installiert wird, kann bei Bedarf eine abgesetzte Antenne eingesetzt werden. Wenn Sie sich nicht sicher sind, wenden Sie sich bitte an unseren technischen Support.

Inbetriebnahme vom NovaCity Gateway

Nach der Installation muss das NovaCity Gateway konfiguriert werden, um die Management-Software zu erreichen. Dazu gehört die Angabe der Server-URL, die Konfiguration der Ethernet-Schnittstelle (standardmässig eine automatische DHCP-Adressierung) oder der Mobilfunkschnittstelle. In der Regel wird das Gateway vorkonfiguriert ausgeliefert. Gegebenenfalls kann es mithilfe eines USB-zu-Seriell-Kabels und der Software Novaccess Device Center, die bei unserem technischen Support erhältlich ist, konfiguriert werden.

Das NovaCity Gateway muss zudem bei der Management-Software registriert werden, damit es sich anmelden darf. Dies geschieht mithilfe der NovaLight Mobile App oder über die Management-Software. Mit der mobilen App kann die Serienummer des Produkts abgerufen werden, indem Sie einfach den auf dem Produktetikett sichtbaren Barcode scannen.

Ich habe eigene SIM-Karten, kann ich diese im NovaCity Gateway verwenden?

Ja. Für das NovaCity Gateway ist eine SIM-Karte im Format 2FF erforderlich. Die SIM-Karte befindet sich im Inneren des Gehäuses. Die Installation einer SIM-Karte erfordert die Konfiguration des Gateways mithilfe eines USB-zu-Seriell-Kabels und der Software Novaccess Device Center. Diese ist bei unserem technischen Support erhältlich. Die erforderlichen Einstellungen sind der APN, der PIN-Code sowie ggf. der Benutzername und das Passwort für den APN.

Benötigen Sie Unterstützung?

Haben Sie Schwierigkeiten bei der Installation oder der Verwendung dieses Produkts? Unser Support-Team steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung, um Ihnen zu helfen.